Director Varela was appointed to the Santa Clara Valley Water District Board of Directors in December 2015. He was elected by the voters in November 2016; re-elected in 2018, and his current term expires in 2022.

Director serves on numerous water district committees, which includes the Homeless Encampment and Water Storage Exploratory Ad Hoc Committees, the Agricultural Water Advisory Committee, the Board Policy and Planning Committee, and the joint water committees for Morgan Hill, Gilroy and San Felipe Division Reach One.

Director Varela is a former Morgan Hill city mayor and councilman. He serves on the Board of Directors for Joint Venture Silicon Valley, the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO), Morgan Hill Chamber of Commerce, and the Pajaro River Watershed Flood Protection Authority. He is also involved in the South County Regional Wastewater Authority and Safe Clean Water Independent Monitoring Committee.

First Video Topic: Managing Water Efforts & Safety of our Drinking Water In Light of Covid-19

Second Video Topic: Update on Anderson Dam

Third Video Topic: South County Water Rates & Pacheco Reservoir Expansion


District 1-Valley Water
Director John L. Varela

Headquarters Building
5700 Almaden Expressway
San Jose, CA